Couple Killer

A shadow walks the streets at night. Stalking couples in their cars. Flashlight in one hand. Gun in the other. Killing people is so much fun.

When multiple murders terrorize a small town college campus, FBI profiler Violet Darger heads to rural Michigan to investigate. As soon as she arrives, a grim history begins to emerge.

The crimes have progressed steadily over a period of 18 months.

Indecent exposure to stalking.

Stalking to rape.

Rape to murder.

The UNSUB’s emphasis on power and control rapidly verges toward full blown sadism. He grows ever bolder, ever more vicious.

What could be more dangerous than a killer aroused by expressions of rage? Increasing brutality. Overkill.

Understanding his psychological motivations will guide the efforts to stop him.

Darger digs into the history. Tries to figure out how the perpetrator advanced unchecked to graver and graver trangressions.

What she finds buried in the police records unsettles her as much as the murders themselves.

While a faceless killer terrorizes the campus, the school administrators remain focused on burying the story.

The revelation creates another complication: The students feel disenfranchised. Angry.

Prostesters gather on lawns. Ignore the citywide curfew. An uprising brewing all over campus.

Darger must navigate an uncooperative administration, a powder keg of a campus, and a killer as savage and dangerous as any she’s ever faced.

When it all boils over, chaos descends on the townspeople. And the killer walks among them.

Mystery, suspense and bloodshed.

Oh my, this book had me on the edge of my seat!! I absolutely could not wait to find out what happened next.

Books by LT Vargus & Tim McBain

The Violet Darger series

Her body is broken. Wrapped in plastic. Dumped on the side of the road. She is the first. There will be more. 
A pulse-pounding thriller series following Special Agent Violet Darger.

The Victor Loshak series

He slips through the unlocked window. Creeps down the hall. A shadow standing in the bedroom doorway. Will you wake when death comes ripping?
A dark thriller series featuring Special Agent Victor Loshak.

The Charlotte Winters series

Down the beach, she can just make out the rusting hulk of the Ferris wheel through the dawn mist. The hairs prickle on her neck as she drags her focus back to the chestnut hair fanned out in the shallow water at her feet. To the grains of sand decorating the beautiful girl’s white cheeks like freckles.
A thrilling new series starring Private Detective Charlie Winters.

The Scattered and the Dead series

With 99.7% of the Earth’s population dead and gone, the few who remain struggle to survive in an empty world. The scattered. The leftovers. These are their stories.
A note about reading order: While we intended them to be read in numerical order (Book 0.5, Book 1.0, Book 1.5, etc.), you can technically start with either Book 1 or Book 0.5.

The Awake in the Dark series

One second Jeff Grobnagger is standing in line at the grocery store, and the next he’s in an alley where a hooded figure strangles him to death. So that sucks.
A 27-year-old slacker has seizures during which he may or may not be astral projecting. What he learns might have the power to change the world. 

Standalone Novels