L.T. VARGUS & TIM MCBAIN

Five Days Post Mortem (Book 5)

Her body floats. A bloated thing half atop the river. Naked. Pale. Mouth and eyes open wide. 

When two fishermen discover a corpse floating in the Clackamas river, profiler Violet Darger heads to rural Oregon to hunt another serial killer. What she discovers in the woods might change the course of her life.

What secrets does the water conceal?

The girl in the water marks the third such case in the area — all drowned with superficial stab wounds and discovered in a body of water — and Darger feels certain she won’t be the last.

The corpses are badly decomposed. The flesh purpled and softened from their time in the water. The forensic evidence distorted by decay and the elements. 

But the victims share one more thing in common — all were discovered roughly five days post mortem. A coincidence? Something with meaning to be discerned?

Darger suspects the timeline to be significant, but without evidence, she can only guess as to why. That sets up what might be the key to the case:

What is the killer doing to the victims for the four days between their deaths and dumping their bodies?

It’s Darger’s first case without Loshak, and it will test her like none before. 

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final page. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series.

There were more intense moments than I can count, enough gore, blood, and guts anyone could want, even some tenderness (making the characters really come alive), and of course more twists and turns than a slinky.
C. Munger
Reader
L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain have created one of the best FBI thriller series that I’ve read. With the release of each new book I’m left in awe that they were able to best their last.
D. Taylor
reader

Books by LT Vargus & Tim McBain

The Violet Darger series

Her body is broken. Wrapped in plastic. Dumped on the side of the road. She is the first. There will be more. A pulse-pounding thriller series following Special Agent Violet Darger.

The Victor Loshak series

A new thriller series starring Special Agent Victor Loshak.

The Scattered and the Dead series

With 99.7% of the Earth’s population dead and gone, the few who remain struggle to survive in an empty world. The scattered. The leftovers. These are their stories.
A note about reading order: While we intended them to be read in numerical order (Book 0.5, Book 1.0, Book 1.5, etc.), you can technically start with either Book 1 or Book 0.5.

The Awake in the Dark series

A 27-year-old slacker has seizures during which he may or may not be astral projecting. What he learns might have the power to change the world. One second JEFF GROBNAGGER is standing in line at the grocery store, and the next he’s in an alley where a hooded figure strangles him to death.
So that sucks.

Standalone Novels