What Lies Beneath (Book 2)

Some secrets don’t stay buried.

Three elaborately staged victims. No clues. A public verging on panic.
FBI profiler Victor Loshak heads to Kansas City to hunt another serial killer. But something about this case is all wrong.

The three corpses lie posed. Face up. A glove laid to cover each right eye.
The victims seem to be selected at random. Suburban. Upper middle class. Squeaky clean. It doesn’t make sense.

A piece is missing from this puzzle.

If Loshak can find the missing link that connects the victims, he believes he can solve the case. The obstacles are many, however.
And the cryptic note someone left under his windshield wiper? It warns him that danger lurks all around.

They bury it, and they bury it, but it won’t stay dead.

As Loshak digs deeper, uneasiness seems to creep over everything in the city. Paranoia. A sense of dread.
Everyone he encounters seems to be keeping things from him. Concealing something.
He gets a visceral sense of the lengths people will go to hide their sins. Bury them.
When the suburban veneer finally strips away, all the dark secrets come clear one by one.

But nothing can prepare Loshak for the shocking revelation this case unearths.
Because what lies beneath the surface? It changes everything.

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final page. Fans of James Patterson, John Sandford, and Lisa Regan should check out the Victor Loshak series.

Books by LT Vargus & Tim McBain

The Violet Darger series

Her body is broken. Wrapped in plastic. Dumped on the side of the road. She is the first. There will be more. A pulse-pounding thriller series following Special Agent Violet Darger.

The Victor Loshak series

A new thriller series starring Special Agent Victor Loshak.

The Scattered and the Dead series

With 99.7% of the Earth’s population dead and gone, the few who remain struggle to survive in an empty world. The scattered. The leftovers. These are their stories.
A note about reading order: While we intended them to be read in numerical order (Book 0.5, Book 1.0, Book 1.5, etc.), you can technically start with either Book 1 or Book 0.5.

The Awake in the Dark series

A 27-year-old slacker has seizures during which he may or may not be astral projecting. What he learns might have the power to change the world. One second JEFF GROBNAGGER is standing in line at the grocery store, and the next he’s in an alley where a hooded figure strangles him to death.
So that sucks.

Standalone Novels